The autonomous community is made up of the territories (provinces) of Araba, Bizkaia and Gipuzkoa and the Basque Government is the government and public administration of the community. The inhabitants of the three territories elect their representatives to the Basque Parliament in autonomous elections and they in turn elect the President (Lehendakari). The headquarters of both the Basque Government and the Basque Parliament are in Vitoria-Gasteiz.

The Basque Government offers services targeted at those living in the three territories, including: the Basque health service (Osakidetza), public education, security, economic development, employment policies, etc.

the Basque Government has its own budgets and among others, the most important sources of income come from the contributions made by the three provincial governments. However, they also obtain revenue from their own rates, from grants from the European Union and from the issue of government debt.



Finally, think about this: What would happen if there weren't enough money to offer all services you've looked at?